Victor Armstrong Young Investigator Award

This award is presented in honour of Dr. Victor Armstrong

Presented to a Young Investigator for Exceptional Scientific Achievements Early in his/her Career.

Terms of Reference

  1. The Award shall be presented to a young investigator who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements early in his/her career.
  2. The recipient must be a current member of the Association on the day of the award presentation. She/he must be 40 years of age or younger on the date specified as the deadline for receipt of nominations.
  3. An individual can only receive this award once.
  4. The Award shall usually be presented bi-annually (every 2 years), but if in the opinion of the Awards Committee no suitable candidate is available, the Award shall not be presented.
  5. The Award shall be accompanied by a framed certificate and an honorarium in the amount of USD 1,000.
  6. The recipient of the Award shall be chosen by the Awards Committee and approved by the IATDMCT Executive approximately three (3) months prior to the Congress at which the Award will be presented. In order to avoid a conflict of interest, the Awards Committee must not communicate with the IATDMCT Executive or Council on their selection prior to making their final decision. However, the final Awards Committee decision requires the approval of the IATDMCT Executive.
  7. Members of IATDMCT may propose suitable candidates to the Awards Committee through the Business Office of the association or Chair of the Awards Committee (Past-President).
  8. Nominations from the membership must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae (CV) including a list of publications, and a letter from the nominator containing an evaluation and appraisal of the nominee for the award. Additional letters of support by members of the Association or other respected scientists are helpful for the Selection Committee.
  9. The presentation of the Award shall normally be at the Opening Ceremonies of the Congress of the association. The recipient of the Award is expected to give an address or present a paper of approximately 30 minutes duration.

Past Recipients

  • 2022 Sophie Stocker, Australia
  • 2021 Tomoyuki Mizuno, USA
  • 2020 postponed due to Covid-19
  • 2018 Laure Elens, Belgium
  • 2017 Markus Meyer, Germany
  • 2015 Jan-Willem Alffenaar, Netherlands
  • 2013 Roger Brüggemann, Netherlands and
    2013 Paula Schaiquevich, Argentina
  • 2011 Dennis Hesselink, The Netherlands
  • 2009 Frank Peters, Germany
  • 2007 Vanessa Steenkamp, South Africa
  • 2005 Maria Shipkova, Germany
  • 2003 Paul Taylor, Australia
  • 2001 Pierre Marquet, France
  • 1999 Ekkehard Schütz, Germany
  • 1997 Amitava Dasgupta, USA
  • 1995 Uwe Christians, Germany
  • 1993 Randall Yatscoff, Canada

Sponsored by

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins


IATDMCT members are invited to nominate individuals for the IATDMCT awards. The award presentations will take place at the Opening Ceremonies of the bi-ennial Internation Congress of the IATDMCT.

How to Nominate: IATDMCT members are invited to nominate individuals for the IATDMCT awards. The award presentations will take place at the Opening Ceremonies of the International Congress of the IATDMCT.

Deadline: May 31, 2024 Nominations must be received by May 31 of the Congress year in EVEN years (2022, 2024, etc.).