International Association of
Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology
Fostering education, research and practice in TDM and CT

Immunosuppressive Drugs Committee

Florian Lemaitre   Satohiro Masuda   Contact Us





Contact Us

Florian Lemaitre
Rennes, France
  Satohiro Masuda
Himeji, Japan
  Scientific Committee
Immunosuppressive Drugs Committee

Committee Purpose

  • To provide evidence-based recommendations for TDM of immunosuppressive agents.
  • To promote the knowledge and understanding of immunosuppressive drug analysis and interpretation of results.
  • To enhance communication between scientists and physicians of all disciplines involved in TDM of immunosuppressive drugs.
  • To encourage the effective application of TDM in transplant medicine, with the aim of optimizing clinical drug use and maximizing the clinical and economic benefits.

Committee Initiatives & Activities

  • Standardization of ISD TDM Working Group (Leaders: C. Seger, L. Langman) A joint committee with IFCC.
  • An initiative to establish a course in TDM related to transplantation, still a plan at an early stage. Suggested as a course to follow online. Questions need to be solved upfront, regarding target audience and level, scope of the course and included topics, format and platform for presentations of the course. First step is to establish a group of members to address this.

Scientific Contributions

2021 Bergan S, Brunet M, Hesselink DA, Johnson-Davis KL, Kunicki PK, Lemaitre F, Marquet P, Molinaro M, Noceti O, Pattanaik S, Pawinski T, Seger C, Shipkova M, Swen JJ, van Gelder T, Venkataramanan R, Wieland E, Woillard JB, Zwart TC, Barten MJ, Budde K, Dieterlen MT, Elens L, Haufroid V, Masuda S, Millan O, Mizuno T, Moes DJAR, Oellerich M, Picard N, Salzmann L, Tönshoff B, van Schaik RHN, Vethe NT, Vinks AA, Wallemacq P, Åsberg A, Langman LJ. Personalized Therapy for Mycophenolate: Consensus Report by the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology. Ther Drug Monit. 2021 Apr 1;43(2):150-200. doi: 10.1097/FTD.0000000000000871. PMID: 33711005..
Elens L, Langman LJ, Hesselink DA, Bergan S, Moes DJAR, Molinaro M, Venkataramanan R, Lemaitre F. Pharmacologic Treatment of Transplant Recipients Infected With SARS-CoV-2: Considerations Regarding Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Drug-Drug Interactions. Ther Drug Monit. 2020 Jun;42(3):360-368. doi: 10.1097/FTD.0000000000000761. PMID: 32304488; PMCID: PMC7188032.
Lemaitre F, Vethe NT, D'Avolio A, Tron C, Robertsen I, De Winter B, Denicolo A, Koch BCP, Venkataramanan R, Van Gelder T, Brunet M, Bergan S, Hesselink DA, Wallemacq P. Measuring Intracellular Concentrations of Calcineurin Inhibitors: Expert Consensus from the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology Expert Panel. Ther Drug Monit. 2020 Oct;42(5):665-670. doi: 10.1097/FTD.0000000000000780. PMID: 32520841.
Compass submissions:
  • Don’t get lost in busulfan translation, S.Bergan, Compass vol 20 issue 2, June 2021.
  • Report on the symposium therapeutic drug monitoring of immunosuppressants: clinical challenges and analytical issues at the 16th congress of the Asian society of transplantation. S. Pattanaik.
  • The potential of the IATDMCT Scientific Committees. S. Bergan.

Additional Committee Resources

  • Biomarker Working Group (Leader U.Christans).
  • Standardization of ISD TDM Working Group. (Leaders: C. Seeger, L. Langman). Joint committee with IFCC.
  • Intracellular tacrolimus measurement Working Group. (Leader: F. Lemaitre).

Minutes of Committee Meetings