

# 16th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday October 8, 2009 • 09:00-10:00

#### **MINUTES**

# 1. Call to Order, Opening Remarks

President Hans Maurer called the 16<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring & Clinical Toxicology to order Thursday October 8, 2009 at 09:00 in the Hilton Bonaventure Hotel, Montreal Quebec. He welcomed all present and noted that a quorum was present. He thanked the Congress Organizing Committee for a great conference.

#### 2. Approval of Minutes of Annual General Meeting

Moved by Dr. L. Langman, Seconded by Dr. A.A. Vinks

That the minutes of the 15<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting July 28, 2008 in Washington DC USA be approved as circulated.

Carried.

Dr. Maurer noted that the ByLaws were changed by vote at the 2008 meeting to allow online voting for the elections.

## 3. President's Report

Dr. Maurer reported that his report was given at the Opening Ceremonies.

## 4. President-Elect's Report

Dr. Vinks, President-Elect reported that there was a full slate of candidates all willing to stand for the election. The election took place by voting online and went very smoothly. Dr. Vinks chaired a Task Force of the Directors of Education, Drs. M. Huestis, A. Johnston, and S. Solari, to develop policies for the Travelling Lectureship, Regional Meetings, and the International Travel Grants. The Terms of Reference have been approved by the Executive.

The Travelling Lectureship will be held in Chile at the late spring of 2010. Dr. Solari will organize the lectureship and Dr. Vanessa Steenkamp will be the lecturer, and will speak on metal and pesticide toxicity.

Dr. Li Wang is working with the Executive on a Regional Meeting supported by IATDMCT to take place in Beijing China in the Fall of 2010.

International Travel Grants were offered for the Congress and four candidates were selected. The grants were presented to two Young Scientists and two members from developing countries.

The Site Selection Committee is considering two proposals to host the 2013 Congress. The decision will be announced at the Closing Ceremonies.

#### 5. **Secretary's Report** - Membership Affairs

Dr. Pierre Marquet, Secretary, reported that there are currently 362 paying members, which is an increase from 2007 and 2008. The main increase has been the number of Young Scientists.

There are two new Scientific Committees – New Sampling Strategies, chaired by Dr. Leo Stolk and Anti-Fungal Drugs, chaired by Dr. Eliane Billaud. The committees have been asked to provide activities between Congresses that will provide value to the membership. They have also been asked to keep their website updated on a regular basis and members are invited to visit for latest news.

The Executive developed Terms of Reference for the new Patsalos Prize and the International Travel Grant. A new category of members for Juniors under 30 years of age will be offered. The best poster and best oral prizes for Young Scientists, first offered in 2007 are being continued.

## 6. Treasurer's Report

President Maurer presented the Treasurer's report on behalf of Dr. Victor Armstrong, Treasurer. The year end financial statements were reviewed.

Moved by Dr. Langman, Seconded by Dr. Huestis

That Andrew Williams, Accountant be retained to review the finances for 2009. Carried.

# 7. Reports of Administrative Committees

## 7.1 Awards Committee

The 2009 awards were presented to:

C.E. Pippenger Award - Dr. P. Marquet

Irving Sunshine Award - Dr. A. Dasgupta

Young Investigator Award - Frank Peters

## 7.2 Awards Fundraising Committee

Dr. Ray Morris will continue as the chair of this committee for the 2007-11 period.

## 7.3 By-Laws Revisions Committee

The By-Laws were changed in 2008 to accommodate electronic voting for both positions on Council and for By-Law changes.

#### 7.4 Nominations & Elections Committee

Dr. Vinks reported that the election was held and all positions were contended. He thanked all candidates for running. The following slate was elected:

President A.A. Vinks
President-Elect P. Marquet
Secretary D. LeGatt
Treasurer L. Langman
Directors of Education V. Steenkamp

T. van Gelder P. Wallemacq

Councillors W. Clarke

B. SallustioM. BrunetF. Peters

#### 7.5 **2010 Congress Planning Committee**

Dr. Eberhard Wieland, chair of the Organizing Committee for the 2011 Congress thanked the Council for choosing Stuttgart as the venue for the 2011 Congress. Planning is well underway and the website and email address for the Congress will soon be announced.

#### 8. Reports of Scientific Committees

The membership was referred to the written reports of the Scientific Committees.

### **Young Scientists**

Dr. Peters reported that the Young Scientist Group (YS) had grown to 61 members and 11 additional members have indicated their interest. The new website coordinator for Young Scientist information is Dr. Sarah Wille. 47 Young Scientists were registered for the conference, and they presented 30 orals and several posters. A luncheon was held on Sunday for the Young Scientists and a YS workshop had 36 attendees. Young Scientists chose the adjudication team judging the orals and posters. YS had an article in *Compass* by M. Gist. Dr. Peters extended thanks to Dr. Denise McKeown for all her help as co-chair in the past year.

# 9. Publications

## 9.1 Therapeutic Drug Monitoring

Dr. Oellerich, Editor-in-Chief, referred members to the written repot.

#### 9.2 Compass

Dr. Maria Shipkova is the new Editor of *Compass*. She invited members to submit articles to the newsletter.

## 9.3 IATDMCT Web Page

Dr. Maurer extended thanks to Dr. Alain Verstrate, webmaster for all his work.

#### 10. Transition of the Chair and adjournment

Dr. Maurer thanked the 2007-2009 Executive and Council for all of their work and accomplishments with IATDMCT. He thanked the members for selecting him as President and for the opportunity to serve the organization. Dr. Maurer then stepped down as President and Dr. A.A. Vinks assumed the chair. Dr. Vinks thanked Dr. Maurer for the many initiatives that he had brought to IATDMCT – the Young Scientists, the Travelling Lectureship, regional meetings, and an increase in the association's financial position.

There being no further business, the meeting was declared adjourned.